First-Person Singularities ─ Stories
  • First-Person Singularities ─ Stories

  • ISBN13:9781941110638
  • 出版社:Three Rooms Pr
  • 作者:Robert Silverberg
  • 裝訂/頁數:平裝/384頁
  • 規格:21cm*14cm*2.2cm (高/寬/厚)
  • 出版日:2017/10/31
定  價:NT$698元
優惠價: 9628
可得紅利積點:18 點




First Person Singularities is the latest collection by science fiction Grand Master Robert Silverberg, featuring nineteen stories written over the course of his forty-year career, all told in the first person singular. Inspired by W. Somerset Maugham’s Six Stories Written in the First Person Singular, a fiercely realist collection from the 1930s, Silverberg takes on the challenge, offering up his own unique sci-fi twist and “running the gambit of singularity.”

Every story in First Person Singularities offers a truly one-of-a-kind narrator. One story is told by a dolphin feeling the pangs of love for a human being, one told by a computer eager to convince us of its sanity, one by a Greek god who has survived into our own times, one by an alien visitor living in disguise in a New York hotel. One is even a retelling of H.G. Wells’s The War of the Worlds, as witnessed by pudgy, timid Henry James! Each story features a special introduction by Silverberg himself, providing the inside scoop on his experience writing for and publishing with the greatest science fiction magazines of the past and present.

Author Robert Silverberg is one of science fiction's most believe writers, winner of five Nebula Awards, five Hugo Awards, and the distinctive Grand Master Award presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. His work includes Dying Inside, Downward to the Earth, and Lord Valentine's Castle. He is also highly regarded as an editor, most recently editing the Three Rooms Press volume This Way to the End Times: Classic Tales of the Apocalypse.
Robert Silverberg,, author, is one of science fiction’s most beloved writers, and the author of such contemporary classics as Dying Inside, Downward to the Earth and Lord Valentine’s Castle, as well as At Winter’s End. He is a past president of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America and the winner of five Nebula Awards and five Hugo Awards. In 2004 the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America presented him with the Grand Master Award. Silverberg is one of twenty-nine writers to have received that distinction.